Meeting my local Republican Committee!

I don’t have any pictures to post, but I finally have met my chairperson and the executive director of my local Republican Party!

It all started with my college wanting to host a Constitution Day event/program with two speakers–one a Republican and one a Democrat. I was put in charge (volunteering) to put together the program. I contacted both the Democratic Party and the Republican Party of my county to see if any of their board members wanted to participate. I got enthusiastic responses from both parties, and they are currently setting me up with two speakers.

Both phone calls I made to these two people had lots of noise in the background; they told me they were at our local fair. So I made my dad drive me to the fair, and after much searching, found the Republican booth. I got a Romney sticker and stuck it to my shirt. They were very excited to meet me and I did get introduced to the “dark side” as Mr. W called it (he’s the chairman) at their booth. I spoke to Ms. J who was on the phone with me earlier and we laughed, chatting about politics. I loved their good nature and the easiness both parties spoke with each other. I wish politics was like that all the time.

We have the right to our own opinions, but we must debate respectfully. Many would disagree, but we can stick to our own opinions and be respectful, perhaps have a good time!

Tomorrow I am volunteering at the Republican booth for six hours (I know, and I hate the smell of fried food) handing out literature and other pamphlets. I’m very excited still, and since I want to be a political analyst, good practice to meet people.

I can’t wait!

UPDATE: I have pictures! Check them out! 🙂

One thought on “Meeting my local Republican Committee!

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to get something done.

Leave a Reply

